Recent Events

“Carpe Diem, Seize the Day”

September 03, 2022

“A great leader can engage in a debate frankly and thoroughly knowing well that at the end, he and the other side will come closer and thus emerge stronger.” (Nelson Mandela) With this perspective, Sagar Public School, Gandhi Nagar organised the ninth edition of the Inter School Debate Competition, “Carpe Diem - Seize the Day” on September 3, 2022. The topic of the debate was, “Electric vehicles are the wave of the future.” The judges for the event were Dr. Deepa S. Kumar, Professor, MLB College and Dr. Mitradeep Bhattacharjee, Assistant Professor, IISER. Speakers from 18 prestigious schools of the city vied for the honours, using skills like overstatement rhetoric and irony to convince the audience. All the teams exhibited great oratorical skills and validated their arguments confidently and emphatically. In the engrossing and fiery exchange of thoughts and ideas that were based on thoroughly researched facts and not merely opinions, the debate served its purpose of igniting young minds to newer ways of thinking and acting. At the end of the heated but engaging debate, Arpit Chatrasal of St. Paul Co-Ed School bagged the 1st prize For the Motion and Pravallika Pandey of Sagar Public School, Gandhi Nagar bagged the 1st prize Against the Motion. Sagar Public School Gandhi Nagar was awarded the rolling trophy for being the overall winner. Roopanshi Khare of Army Public School, Bhopal was declared the runners up For the Motion and Aadya Singh of Delhi Public School, Kolar Road was declared runners up Against the Motion. Best Interjector for and against the motion were won by Chaitanya Sharma (for the motion) and Anviksha Shrivastava (against the motion) from Sagar Public School, Saket Nagar. The winners were awarded with trophies, certificates, kindles, smart watches and Bluetooth speakers. The mentor teachers of all the schools also received a token of appreciation. The day concluded with participation certificates and food packet distribution to all the teams along with the group photographs of all the teams as a souvenir.